Joyful Noise

Hosted by Tom Wijesinghe

Sundays 21:00 - 22:00 even weeks

Make a joyful noise unto the Lord, all ye lands. (Psalm 100:1) 

Every other Sunday night 21.00-22.00 tune in to hear Tom Wijesinghe bringing you the best beats and treats from across the globe. Listen for the top modern musical innovations from around the planet as well as the healthiest portions of amateur mixing and linking this side of the Botley interchange.


Tom plays some of his favourite releases of the year 2017 including a collaboration between US-Iraqi Oud player Rahim AlHaj and the world renowned Kronos Quartet, "Unspoken Word", which details a true story of a young boy during Saddam Hussein's oppressive reign who went searching for his mother, only to realise she had been killed by an explosion.

Elsewhere we have flamenco-jazz from Antonio Lizana, a bizarre piece by Hayato Takeuchi that features Julius Fučík's "Entrance of the Gladiators" as you've never heard it before, New Zealand-based rapper and producer Bobandii's multi-genre madness, and music from the A.R.E Project, a cross-cultural collaboration between pioneering UK jazz and electronic musicians.



  1. Two Thousand and Seventeen by Four Tet
  2. Open Letter to Adoniah by Sibousile Xaba
  3. La Semilla by Antonio Lizana
  4. Beggar's Love Song by Nguyên Lê & Ngô Hông Quang
  5. Mr Henderson No Ai To Replica by Hayato Takeuchi
  6. Calling the Loas by A.R.E Project
  7. Nazarite by Bobandii
  8. Letter 6: "Unspoken Word" - Laila by Rahim AlHaj & Kronos Quartet
  9. Shadow Of Doubt by Miles Mosley

Tom revisits some more of his favourites from 2017, including a song from Object Collection's new opera "It's All true" which is made completely using incidental speech and sounds from punk band Fugazi's complete live concert recordings. There's also a track from The Firebirds which is a jazz re-working of a movement from Carl Nielson's "Aladdin".

Also on the show, a new release by Habibi Funk Records of 1970s Algerian film music, and a track from Australian psychadelica band King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard's amazing year in which they released five full length albums.



  1. He Is by Marvin Sapp
  2. Bales by Yorkston/Thorne/Khan
  3. Rakia Nightmares by Jonah Levine Collective ft. Aditya Prakash
  4. Oriental Festive March by The Firebirds
  5. Deewani Mastani (Unplugged) by Shreya Ghoshal
  6. Victory Parade by Object Collection
  7. Rolling Stoned by King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard
  8. Londinium by De Raad van Toericht
  9. Catch The Loop by Kamaal Williams
  10. Planetary Prince by Cameron Graves

In his third episode so far, Tom plays some great new tunes including a brand new single from London-based tenor saxophonist Nubya Garcia's latest EP and a track from G-Funk superstar Snoop Dogg's latest Gospel project "Bible of Love".

Elsewhere listen out for Argentinian folk-inspired electronica; performance art-inspired alt-rock; a new previously unreleased music from LA jazz supergroup The West Coast Get Down's formative years under trombonist Ryan Porter's leadership; and part of a new recording of Laurie Anderson's Hurricane Sandy-inspired work for Kronos Quartet entitled "Landfall".



  1. Blessing Me Again by Snoop Dogg ft. Rance Allen
  2. As the Eye to the Bow by Noz and Abdunazar Poyonov
  3. She Said by Everything is Recorded ft. Obongjayer and Kamasi Washington
  4.  Our Street is a Black RIver by Laurie Anderson & Kronos Quartet
  5. Abyssinia by Thandi Ntuli ft. Tlale Makhane
  6. Bamako Love Song by MABUTA ft. Shabaka Hutchings and Tlale Makhane
  7. Mccafferty's Bib by They Might Be Giants
  8. Agujeros en la Realidad by Tremor
  9. Karachi (What Could Have Been) by Penya
  10. Set Me Free by The Unthanks
  11. Obamanomics by Ryan Porter
  12. As Sylvie Was Walking by You Are Wolf
  13. Knowledge (Introdukja do Etiudy Baletowej) by EABS
  14. When We Are by Nubya Garcia

In this final episode of the term's broadcastings, Dafydd Alexander - a Fine Art student at Worcester college - shares some of his favourite tracks. Listen out for some trap from mother of four and self-styled "black Marge Simpson" BbyMutha; some Welsh-language indie-electronica from Ifan Dafydd; brand new music from Oxford-based Wandering Wires; and a track from Joe Armon-Jones and Maxwell Owin's critically acclaimed 2017 EP, 'Idiom'.


  1. I Got Out by Bryan Popin
  2. If The Car Beside You Moves Ahead by James Blake
  3. Your Dystopic Creation Doesn't Fear You by Deerhoof ft. Awkwafina
  4. Black and Mld by BbyMutha ft. $hoey
  5. Give It to Me by HOMESHAKE
  6. Off It by Solomonilla
  7. Yeh Yeh by Ben Hauke ft. Nubya Garcia
  8. Worlds Apart by Wandering Wires
  9. SE Discotheque by Joe Armon-Jones & Maxwell Owin
  10. Speak On It by Cities Aviv
  11. Celwydd by Ifan Daydd ft. Alys Williams
  12. Before I Lied by Trim
  13. Hello Dave by Michael Wollny Trio